I, Assassin – Gary Numan (1983)

Beatopolis

I, Assassin album cover I, Assassin album cover

As childhood heroes go, few loomed as large as Gary Numan for me. While I’d never go so as far as don the makeup or earring, the simple business suit look that he sported was one to aspired to. As an element of the corporate man-machine look of his futuristic image from The Pleasure Principal, it set him apart from nearly everyone in new wave rock.

Numan would go all out space alien with Telekon, but come back to the suit for two of his most interesting albums Danceand I, Assassin. To me, these were special albums that defined my impression of Numan at his sonic best. From the beginning of his Metal-Era to the end of the experimental phase, Numan was trying to distance himself from and stay ahead of the new wave drones who were increasingly looking and sounding alike (as well as dominating the…

View original post 473 more words

Leave a Reply

