Big Fun – Shalamar (1979)

Beatopolis

Big Fun album cover Big Fun album cover

One of the joys of music is how it can bring you up when you are down (that’s actually a lyric in a Commodores song). I have grown to associate R&B from the late ’70s to about 1986 as a kind of golden age drug of choice when I need a quick pick up. That was one of my primary coping devices as a child growing up in a strict fundamentalist Christian household.

Of the happy go lucky R&B music I perscribed to myself, few artists were as effective as a mood changer as Shalamar. I first heard them when the hit “Second Time Around” was making its rounds on the radio. Somehow I ended up with a 45 I don’t remember buying. The song had burst out of the prison of black radio and had become a pop hit. With appearances on Soul Train, American…

View original post 369 more words

Leave a Reply

