A (not at all) random cover posting: The Polyphonic Spree “Lithium”

Music Insanity!

The Polyphonic Spree

This one came up a week ago when The Polyphonic Spree’s second album, “Together we’re heavy”, appeared in a post here on my twenty favourite albums of 2004. There were a handful of appreciative comments and agreeing nods from my fellow bloggers, in the midst of which I dropped a reference to this cover song in one of my responding comments. I hadn’t thought about it in years but of course, as soon as I recalled it, my mind wouldn’t let go until I gave it a spin.

After the aforementioned sophomore album and before their third, The Fragile Army”, The Polyphonic Spree released a five song EP called “The wait” in 2005. It’s two mediocre originals that sandwich three fun and fantastic covers that frankly, rescued this release from the trash. Indeed, the 20 or so piece choral rock band put their bombastic spin on The Psychedelic Furs’…

View original post 156 more words

Leave a Reply

