Prince (1958-2016) #ripprince


As I am pretty sure you were, I was shocked to find out that #Prince was found dead in his Minneapolis-area studio when this news broke today. This may sound cliche, but this announcement is as sad as those of the deaths of Elvis Presley, John Lennon, and Michael Jackson because like these other artists, Prince was a music icon who was in a class by himself.

As someone who grew up during the 80s and early 90s, I vividly remember hearing Prince’s records like Little Red Corvette, Raspberry Beret, Kiss, and Diamonds And Pearls on the radio. These are more than just records; they are masterpieces because of the way that his compositions were arranged and his instrumentations were augmented by his phenomenal baritone-to-countertenor vocal range. As for his work as an actor, Purple Rain is among his best work not just as a motion picture but his best work collectively because his work ethic reflected in everything he did.

Prince Rogers Nelson, aka The Artist Formerly Known As The Unpronounceable Love Symbol, may have been as maniacal about his privacy as the late Michael Jackson and veteran music producer Mutt Lange have been about theirs, but through his work, I feel that the world knew as much about him as he would let us know. He will be truly missed, and as his recordings continue to play on the radio, his spirit still lingers among us. May you rest in peace, Prince.

This video contains reflections about Prince and his musical legacy. Check it out.

George Martin, Producer and Arranger for The Beatles, Dies at 90 | Billboard

Sir George Martin, the legendary producer who was at the helm of most of the Beatles’ biggest hits, has passed away at age 90. Aside from the Fab Four, “the fifth Beatle,” as he was known, also produced recordings for such artists as America, Celine Dion, Sir Elton John, Stevie Wonder, Sir Paul McCartney (and Wings), and Michael Jackson. Martin’s contribution to the music industry as not only a producer but also as a composer, arranger, and music executive is remarkable and will never be forgotten.

May you rest in peace, George.



Just this morning, I learned that entertainer George Gaynes has just passed away at age 98. He was know for his roles in Tootsie and the Police Academy movies, but I also remember him as photography/building manager/foster parent Henry Warnimont on Punky Brewster. George was also a singer with a very powerful baritone voice, and one of my favourite vocal performances of his was featured in an episode of Punky (in which the late Andy Gibb guess starred as a piano teacher) where he sang the following lyric:

Don’t say salami
Don’t say bananas
Don’t say minestrone
Say cheese, baby, say cheese!

Rest in peace, George, and keep having them saying cheese in the afterlife!

Linda Ronstadt Reveals What Life Is Like After Singing Silenced By Parkinson’s Disease

In this video, Linda Rondstadt talks about her music career and her battle with Parkinson’s disease, which robbed her of her legendary soprano voice, which can still be heard on her classic hit recordings such as You’re No Good, When Will I Be Loved, and Don’t Know Much (her 1989 megahit duet with Aaron Neville). Watch this video, and Linda will pull at your heartstrings as she tells her story.